[Book Review] DARK LUMINANCE By E.M. McDowell

I have been recently reading books without reading the synopsis. I find it gives me a much more anticipatory buzz, and stops me looking for how a book fits into neat little boxes.

Dark Luminance (fiction) captured my attention immediately, with the principal character and his friends in a cliffhanging situation.

This book deals with many themes including love found (and lost), quantum mechanics, life-after-death, and existentialism. Without knowing the plot outline beforehand, I was gripped by the story, and I need the next book in the series so badly. The initial chapters contain a small amount of technical explanation, but this doesn’t detract from the story, and does not need to be understood. However, from my recollection of this part of science in my studies, there was nothing that made me think “oh, come on!” like I find occurring with so many modern day authors.

I don’t think my last paragraph truly conveys what the content is about, but then I don’t want to ruin the joy I experienced for other people.

If you are looking for a very smart, fast-paced science fiction novel, where the characters are multi-dimensional and clever then this is a good call.

Dark Luminance is available in paperback and ebook forms, from Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Leave a Reply

